Thursday, 8 June, 2023

Ton-up Anamul helps Abahani maintain unbeaten run

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 3 April, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Ton-up Anamul helps Abahani maintain unbeaten run
Anamul Haque Bijoy celebrates his ton against Dhaka Leopards during a DPL match in Savar on Sunday. —COLLECTED PHOTO

Opener Anamul Haque Bijoy scored his second ton in the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2022-23 as Abahani Limited thrashed Dhaka Leopards by 54 runs in their sixth-round match at the BKSP-4 ground in Savar on Sunday.

Anamul struck an unbeaten 107 off 126 balls with seven fours and four sixes while his opening partner Mohammad Naim also made 57 off 85 balls as Abahani posted 266-6 in their 50 overs after they elected to bat first.

Pacer Ripon Mondol (3-33) and left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan (3-30) then shared six wickets between them as Abahani bowled Dhaka Leopards all out for 212 runs in 48.5 overs to register their sixth successive victory in the ongoing meet.

Pinak Ghosh made the highest 68 runs for Dhaka Leopards.

With this win, Abahani moved to the top of the DPL points table with 12 points while Dhaka Leopards remained at the bottom with one point from six games.

Meanwhile, City Club earned their second win in the ongoing tournament after they beat Brothers Union Limited by one wicket during a last-over thriller at the BKSP-3 ground.

Chasing a below-par target of 220 runs, City Club were reduced to 196-8 in the 44th over but Rafsan Al Mahamud made a brilliant 35 runs while Irfan Hossain scored 12 not out as they reached 222-9 in 49.5 overs to hand Brothers their fifth defeat in the tournament. Tawfique Khan also contributed 42 runs off 33 balls with one four and five sixes at the top. Sabbir Hossain took three wickets for the Brothers side.

Earlier, Brothers’ Pakistani recruit Saad Nasim struck 74 runs while Tanzid Hasan scored 42 runs but Brothers could only make 219 runs in 46.5 overs after they decided to bat first. Irfan finished with 3-52 for City Club.

Shinepukur Cricket Club also ended their four-match losing streak and clinched their second win when they beat Agrani Bank Cricket Club by eight wickets in Fatullah on the same day. Left-arm spinner Hasan Murad finished with 4-27 while Farhad Reza also claimed 4-31 as Shinepukur wrapped up Agrani Bank innings for 161 runs in 45.4 overs after their opposition chose to bat first. Nuruzzaman top-scored for Agrani Bank with 38 runs.

Shinepukur, in reply, reached 162-2 in 32.5 overs to hand Agrani Bank their fourth defeat in the tournament.

Opener Mahfijul Islam remained not out on 69 runs off 87 balls while Amite Hasan also made 36 runs for Shinepukur.

The seventh-round matches will start on Tuesday.