UP Polls

AL changes 5 candidates

Staff Correspondent

16 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The ruling Awami League has changed its five candidates for the first phase of union parishad (UP) polls alongside naming candidates in 57 more UPs.

 The decision was taken at an adjourned joint meeting of the party’s parliamentary board and local government nomination board held at Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s official Ganabhaban residence in the capital on Monday.

The party also decided to keep open in all UPs in Shibchar upazila of Madaripur, sources say.

They are: Abu Hanif Khan in Mirukhali under Mathbaria upazila and Humayun Kabir in Somudoykathi under Nesarabad upazila of Pirojpur, Mizanur Rahman in Alipur under Dosmina of Patuakhali, Humayun Kabir in Betagi of Barguna and Mithu Sikder in Awrabunia under Kathalia of Jhalokhathi.

Earlier, on Saturday, the nomination board named the party candidates for 300 UPs along with 11 municipal mayoral runners and picked party contender for Lakshmipur-2 by-election, and adjourned the meeting.

The first phase elections for 371 union parishads, 11 municipalities and the by-election for Lakshmipur-2 constituency will be held on April 11.