Elections to 100 local bodies today

10 December, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Elections or by-elections to nearly 100 local bodies -- Zila Parishads, Upazila parishads, municipalities and Union Parishads-will be held in different districts of the country on Thursday, reprots UNB.

 The Election Commission has taken necessary preparations to arrange the polls, EC's joint secretary (Public Relations) SM Asaduzzaman told UNB on Wednesday.  The local bodies include four Zila parishads, seven municipalities, 10 upazila parishads and 71 union parishads.

Of these, only five municipalities and three union parishads will go to regular election, while the rest will go to by-elections.

The five municipalities are Faridpur and Madhukhali of Faridpur district, Rajoir of Madaripur, Bancharampur of Brahmanbaria and Palashbari of Gaibandha.