Navy clinch Bangabandhu Hockey

Sports Correspondent

21 February, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Navy clinch Bangabandhu Hockey

Players of Bangladesh Navy celebrate with the trophy of Shaheed Smriti Hockey Tournament’2020 at the Maulana Bhashani Hockey Stadium on Thursday. — BHF Photo

Bangladesh Navy emerged unbeaten champions in the four-team Bangabandhu Shaheed Smriti Hockey Tournament 2020 beating Bangladesh Army by 6-3 goals in the final at Maulana Bhashani Hockey Stadium in the capital on Thursday.

In the day’s goal-fest, Ashraful Islam scored twice in the 7th and 54th minutes while Mahbub Hossen, Rasel Mahmud Jimmy, Moinul Islam Koushik and Abed Uddin netted one goal each in the 12th, 33rd, 36th and 44th minutes respectively for Navy. Monoj Babu, Milon Hossen, Nayeem Uddin scored one goal each in the 19th, 48th and 59th minutes for Army.

Navy’s Moinul Islam Koushik was adjudged the player of the tournament and Mahbub Hossen became the top scorer netting 6 goals. 

The champions get Tk 20,000 and Runners-up get Tk 10,000 as prize money. Walton Group Executive Director FM Iqbal Bin Anwar Dawn distributed the prizes among the teams. Besides, Bangladesh Hockey Federation Vice-President (BHF) Zaki Ahmed Ripon, BHF acting General Secretary Mohammad Yousuf, BHF EC member Badrul Islam Dipu and other distinguished personalities were also present on the occasion.

Earlier, Navy reached final securing full nine points while other finalists Army secured six points in group stage. Bangladesh Air Force earned third place with three points and all-losers Bangladesh Police returned home empty-handed.  

Navy crushed Police by 5-0 goals in their first match, outclassed Air Force by 6-1 goals in the second match and beat Army by 3-2 goals in their third and last group match while Army edged past Air Force by 4-3 goals in their first match and routed Police by 7-1 goals in their second match.