144 cos get VAT awards

Staff Correspondent

11 December, 2019 12:00 AM printer

144 cos get VAT awards

The photo shows a rally brought out by the National Board of Revenue in the capital on Tuesday on the occasion of the National VAT Day-2019.

A total of 144 business firms in different categories have been awarded certificates for their highest value added tax (VAT) payments in 2017-18 fiscal.

Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal handed over crests and certificates to the representatives of the selected firms at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) in the capital on Tuesday.

Planning Minister MA Mannan and Finance Advisor to the Prime Minister Moshiur Rahman were special guests while the NBR Chairman chaired the programme.

Of the 144 entities, nine businesses got the highest VAT awards at national level and the rest 135 from district levels.

The national level to VAT paying businesses are Square Formulations Managing Director Tapan Chowdhury, Aristopharma Chairman Mohammad Abul Hasan, Rashidpur Condensate Fractionation Plant Managing Director Ali Iqbal Nurullah are in productivity category,  Hamco Corporation Chairman Syed Ahmed Talukder, SC Johnson Managing Director Sanjay Shrivastava, Siemens Health Care Executive Director Golam Mortuza Menon are in business category, Chattogram Warehouse Chairman Imran Ahmed and Qatar Airways Country Manager Joya Prakash Nair and Thai Airways Administrator Al Mamun Bhuiyan are in service category.

Among others district level business entities are: Berger Paints Managing Director Rupali Chowdhury,  Syacos Engineers Managing Director Ali Akkas, Fibre @Home Chairman Moinul Hoque Siddique, MM Khan Food Managing Director Mahabubur Rahman, Kishorganj Gopal Sweets owner Chandan Basak, Popular Pharmaceuticals Managing Director Mostafizur Rahman, Akij Biri Factory Chairman Sheikh Mohiuddin, Netrokona Shilpi Enterprise owner Swapan Kumar Saha, Sherpur Bajaj Corner owner Rafiqul Islam, Sherpur Charu Sweets owner Shib Prasad Das, Mymensingh SMC Enterprise Managing Director Abdul Hoque, Mymensingh Gopal Monda owner Rabindranath Paul, Munshiganj Super Formika Managing Director Abul Kalam, Narayanganj Olympic Industries  Managing Director Mobarak Ali, Shajeeb Corporation owner  Shamima Haidar Chowdhury,  RFL Electronics Chief Executive Ahsan Khan Chowdhury, Narshingdi Sohel Trading Managing Director Saiful Islam Sohel, Jamalpur Mohini Bidi Factory Chairman Aviram Kanu, Jamalpur Desh Nirman owner Newaz Amin, Tangail Vikar Concrete owner Modon Mohon Paul, Jamalpur Ajmeri Sweets owner Shamima Khan, Tangail Jupitar Entreprise Managing Director Nazmul Haque, Tangail Gauro Chosh Sweets owner Swapan Ghosh and Nippon Paints Managing Director Yaw Seng Heng.