Monday, 6 December, 2021

Shohidul makes debut as Tigers bat first against Pakistan

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 22nd November, 2021 01:41:26 PM
  • Print news
Shohidul makes debut as Tigers bat first against Pakistan

Fast bowler Shohidul Islam was handed debut as Bangladesh elected to bat first after their captain Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss in the third T20 International against Pakistan at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Bangladesh is eying to avoid the whitewash after losing the first two matches by four wickets and eight wickets.

The hosts however brought up three changes overall including a debut to Shohidul Islam. Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed and batsman Shamim Hossain were recalled to the team.

Fast bowlers Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam and batsman Saif Hassan were left out from the squad that played the last two matches.

For the dead-rubber, Pakistan made four changes, bringing up Sarfaraz Ahmed, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir and fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani who was given his debut.

 Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shoaib Malik were the four players to make their way.

Bangladesh: Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah (captain), Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Shohidul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Nasum Ahmed

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Haider Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Shahnawaz Dahani.