Bogra 6 by-election underway

Sun Online Desk

24th June, 2019 10:05:42 printer

Bogra 6 by-election underway

The by-election to Bogra-6 constituency is underway on Monday.

The voting started around 9:00am and will continue till 5pm without any break.

People of the constituency are voting for their preferred candidate in the election by using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election in 2018, did not take oath as MP within the stipulated 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP, T Zaman Niketa of Awami League, Nurul Islam Omar of Jatiya Party, Dr Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Mufti Rafiqul Islam of Muslim League, and independent candidate Md Minhaz Mondal, are there in the by-elections race.

There are 387,458 voters -- 191,668 males and 195,790 females - in the constituency.