Election Commission asks 12 political parties to resubmit financial statements

Sun Online Desk

14th August, 2017 05:29:31 printer

Election Commission asks 12 political parties to resubmit financial statements

The Election Commission has asked 12 political parties to resubmit their audited financial statements of 2016 calendar year maintaining proper procedures by August 31 next.


Besides, the Commission extended time to August 31 for five other political parties to place their financial statements following their request. 


The EC has sent letters to the political parties informing the EC’s decision, said an official at the EC Secretariat on Sunday, reports UNB.


A total of 35 parties out of 40 ones registered with the EC placed their financial statements within the deadline of July 31. But 12 parties did not maintain proper procedures as their statements contain some mistakes related to signature and seal.


The 12 parties that need to resubmit the statements are Jatiya Party (Ershad), LDP, Bangladesh Muslim League, PDP, BJP, Bangladesh Jatiya Party, NPP, Jagpa, Andolan Bangladesh, Krishak Sramik Janata League, Oikyabodha Nagorik Andolan and Ganotantri Party.



The five parties that requested for time extension are BNF, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Bangladesh Sangskritik Muktijot (Muktijot), Bangladesh National Awami Party and Islami Oikya Jote.


According to the law, each registered political party is obliged to submit its financial statements of the previous calendar year by each July 31.


If any political party fails to submit the financial statement for three consecutive years, the EC can cancel the registration of the party as per the Clause 90H of the Representation of the People Order, 1972.