Wednesday, 1 February, 2023

High-level business delegation accompanies PM

Sayem Sobhan Anvir among the delegates

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 8 March, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

A high-level delegation of businessmen, including Bashundhara Group Managing Director and Bangladesh Jewellers Samity President Sayem Sobhan Anvir, accompanied Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina  during her five-day official visit to the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina left Dhaka for Abu Dhabi on Monday  at the invitation of the UAE Vice President and Prime Minister Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

Both Dhaka and Abu Dhabi hope that the visit will take the already excellent relations between the two countries to new heights. The two countries will sign several deals for further strengthening cooperation in a wide range of areas, including economy, trade and investment, and connectivity.

Diplomatic sources said the visit is also expected to usher in a new era of the business cooperation between the two countries.

During her high-profile visit, the Bangladesh premier will attend the ‘UAE-Bangladesh Joint Business Council’ at Expo 2022 Dubai on Thursday.

The Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) in a press statement on Monday said a 66-member delegation led by its president Jasim Uddin is accompanying the prime minister.

During the visit, the FBCCI and the Dubai International Chamber will sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) at the Leadership Pavilion at the expo ground on Tuesday. The prime ministers of Bangladesh and the UAE are likely to be present at the signing ceremony.

Before that, the delegation will attend the International Women's Day celebrations programme there.

The UAE-Bangladesh Economic Forum is scheduled be held on Thursday. Later, the UAE-Bangladesh Joint Business Council will be inaugurated.

The 66-member delegation includes FBCCI former president and a lawmaker Md Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin, FBCCI senior vice-president Mostofa Azad Chowdhury, vice-president Md Aminul Haque Shamim, Md Amin Helaly, Md Habib Ullah Dawn, Salauddin Alamgir, MA Razzak Khan Raj, former vice-president Md Siddiqur Rahman, FBCCI directors Alamgir Shamsul Alamin, Mahbubul Alam, lawmaker Khan Ahmed Shuvo, Naaz Farhana Ahmed, Md Nizam Uddin, MGR Nasir Majumder, Syed Moazzem Hossain, Engr Ghulam Mohammed Alomgir, Mohaamed Iqbal Shahriar, Lawmaker Md Ali Hossain Shishir, Amzad Hussain, Mohammed Bazlur Rahman, Md Aslam Serniabath, Dr. Kazi  Ertaza Hassan (CIP), Mohammed Riyadh Ali, Md Shaheen Ahamed, Shomi Kaiser, Md Iqbal Hossain Chowdhury, Dr Nadia Binte Amin, Syed Sadat Almas Kabir, Dr Joshoda Jibon Deb Nath (CIP), SM Jahangir Alam (Manik), SM Shafiuzzaman, Mohammed Mahbubur Rahman Patwari, Abul Kasem Khan, Tahmin Ahmed.

The delegation also includes BASIS president Taslim Ahmed Russell, FICCI president Naser Ezaz Bijoy, BKMEA executive president Mohammad Hatem, BASIS senior vice-president Samira Zuberi Himika and vice-president Abu Daud Khan, BGMEA vice-president Md Shahidullah Azim, vice-president (finance) Khandoker Rafiqul Islam, Md Nasir Uddin, BTMA director Mohammad Fayazur Rahman Bhuiyan, BGMEA former 1st vice president SM Abu Tayyab, Anwar Khan Modern Hospital chairman and MD Lawmaker Anwer Hossain Khan, Pran Group MD Ahsan Khan Chowdhury, chairman of M Alam Gas Station Jamila Mahbub, chairman of Padma Bank Chowdhury Nafeez Sarafat, chairman of Midland Power Co Ltd KM Rezaul Hasanat, vice-chairman of Confidence Group Imran Karim, MD of Confidence group Salman Karim, MD of Total Business Solution Md Mizanur Rahman, MD of Torque Fashions Mohammed Kamal Uddin, MD of RTV Humayun Kabir Bablu, Bangladesh Agro-Processors Association former vice-president Mohammad Shahab Uddin, MD of Baraka Patenga Power Ltd Monzur Kadir Shafi, Sr executive director of Walton Group Mohammod Sirajul Islam and Md Anisur Rahman Mollick, MD of Bay Economic Zone Ziaur Rahman and MD and CEO of Bengal Islami Life Insurance Munshi Mohd Monirul Alam Tapan.