Sunday, 22 May, 2022

20th Dhaka Int’l Film Festival concludes

Tamil movie ‘Koozhangal’ wins best film award this year

20th Dhaka Int’l Film Festival concludes

Popular News

The 20th Dhaka International Film Festival concluded on Sunday with closing ceremony at the Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Auditorium of Bangladesh National Museum in the capital.

Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud graced the occasion as the chief guest, while Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy Director General Liaquat Ali Lucky and Dhaka Club Limited President Khandaker Mashiuzzaman Romel were present as special guests.

Presided over by festival executive committee member and Liberation War Museum Trustee Mofidul Hoque, DIFF Director Ahmed Muztaba Zamal delivered the welcome speech at the closing and award-giving ceremony.

Tamil director PS Vinothraj's maiden directorial and India's official entry to Oscars 2022 ‘Koozhangal’ (Pebbles) has won Best Film Award this year.

 From Bangladeshi films, two periodic films-- N Rashed Chowdhury-directed ‘Chandrabati Kotha’ and Nurul Alam Atique-directed ‘Lal Moroger Jhuti’ jointly received the Audience Award while Shabnam Ferdousi-directed film ‘Ajob Karkhana’ got the Best Film Award by FIPRESCI Jury in the Bangladesh Panorama category.

A total of 17 awards were given in different categories at the closing ceremony of the 20th Dhaka International Film Festival.

In the Asian Cinema Competition Section, the Best Director Award went to Sujit Bidari for the film ‘Ainaa Jhyal Ko Putali’ while the Best Actor Award went to Jayasurya for the film ‘Sunny,’ and the Best Actress Award went to Sussan Parva for ‘Botox,’ an Iranian-Canadian joint production.

The award for the Best Script Writer went to Indranil Roychowdhury and Sugata Sinha for Indranil Roychowdhury-directed film ‘Mayar Jonjal’ (Debris of Desire), a joint production of Bangladesh and India.

The other award for the Asian Film Competition Section, the Best Cinematography Award went to Zhou Wencao for ‘Cafe by the Highway’ (China), directed by Shi Xiaofan.

As for the Women Filmmakers Section, Maryam Bahrololumi-directed Iranian film ‘Shahrbanoo’ has won the Best Feature Film Award while Best Documentary Award went to Antonia Kilian-directed documentary ‘Joen Toisella Puolen’ (Germany-Finland) and the Best Short Film Award went to Alexandra Matheou-directed film ‘A Summer Place’ (Cyprus-France).

 Orhan Tekeoglu-directed Turkish film Fatma Kayaci’nin Bilinmeyen Hikayesn, Rahim Zabihi-directed Iranian documentary ‘Nane Moghadas’ and Chengxu Lan-directed Chinese production ‘Yangzhen’s Journey’ have won awards at the Spiritual Films Section. 

Besides, the Special Audience Award went to Aimee Baruah-directed Indian film ‘Semkhor’ and the Best Children Film Badal Rahman Award went to Daria Binevskaya-directed Russian film ‘Africa’.

Earlier, the 20th DIFF was begun on January 15 with 225 films from 70 countries.

Rainbow Film Society has been organising Dhaka International Film Festival since 1992 with the theme ‘Better Film, Better Audience, Better Society’.