Thursday, 21 October, 2021

Shardul replaces Axar in India’s T20 WC squad

Shardul replaces Axar in India’s T20 WC squad

Popular News

Shardul Thakur has replaced Axar Patel in the 15-man main squad for the forthcoming T20 World Cup, reports cricbuzz. The left-arm spinner takes Thakur's place in the list of standby players that also includes Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar. The decision to execute the swap was not injury enforced but after a discussion between the All India Selection Committee and the team management. A likely explanation for Thakur's inclusion in the squad is the

uncertainty around Hardik Pandya, who hasn't yet resumed bowling. Thakur, who played the last of his 22 T20Is in the series against England in Ahmedabad early this year, has slowly emerged as an all-round option for India across formats. Meanwhile, even with Axar's

relegation to the stand-by list, India have four spinners in their squad namely Ravindra

Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy.