First-phase UP elections on Apr 11

Staff Correspondent

18 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The Election Commission (EC) has decided to hold elections to 323 union parishads across the country on April 11 next in the first phase.

EC Secretary Humayun Kabir Khandaker revealed the decision at a press conference at the commission on Wednesday.

 He said the schedule for the elections will be announced in the first week of March.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used for voting in 41 unions while traditional ballot papers in the remaining ones, the secretary said.

He said the commission will take all necessary measures for holding the polls in a free and fair manner.

Earlier, Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda said the local

government body elections would be held in a political manner for the post of chairman.

There are 4,571 union parishads in the country, according to the Local Government Division.

Meanwhile, elections to nine municipalities will also be held on April 11, Kabir said.