Dignitaries receive vaccine

Staff Correspondent

8 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

A good number of dignitaries, including the chief justice, ministers, MPs and central leaders of Awami League, received their first doses of the Covid-19 vaccine to encourage people to take the jab as the mass vaccination began in the country on Sunday.

High Court justices, Cabinet Secretary, PMO Secretary, elected members of local bodies and high-ups of different professional bodies and civil surgeons also took the vaccine on the opening day.

Health Minister Zahid Maleque inaugurated the countrywide vaccination through videoconferencing from the Directorate General of Health Services in the morning.

Later at noon, the minister received his first dose of the coronavirus vaccine at Sheikh Russel Gastroliver Institute & Hospital in the capital's Mohakhali area.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain took the vaccine at Shaheed Suhrawardy Medical College Hospital.

AL Presidium member and Agriculture Minister Abdur Razzaque, Textiles and Jute Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujan, Science and Technology Minister Architect Yeafesh Osman, Fisheries and Livestock Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Md Shahab Uddin, State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain and State Minister for Civil Aviation and Tourism Mahbub Ali were also inoculated.

Three High Court justices -- M Enayetur Rahim, Mostafizur Rahman and Kazi Zinat Hoque -- got vaccinated at Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University.

In total, 55 justices received their first shots at different hospitals.

Deputy Minister for Education Mohibul Hassan Chowdhoury, Khulna City Corporation Mayor Talukder Abdul Khaleque also received their first doses.

Former Chief Justice and Chairman of Law Commission ABM Khairul Haque, Dhaka University Vice-chancellor Prof M Akhtaruzzaman, Pro-VC (Administration) Muhammad Samad and Pro-VC (Education) ASM Maksud Kamal, among others, took the vaccine.

AL Joint General Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif, Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon and Gonoshasthaya Kendra Trustee Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury were inoculated against the deadly virus.

Cabinet Secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam, Finance Division Secretary Abdur Rouf Talukder, Agriculture Secretary M Mesbahul Islam and LGED Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed also took the vaccine on the day.

President of National Technical Advisory Committee on Covid-19 Dr Mohammad Shahidullah, Chief Coordinator of all the burn units in the country Dr Samanta Lal Sen, President of Bangladesh Medical Association (BMA) Dr Mostafa Jalal Mohiuddin, its Secretary General Dr Ehteshamul Haque Chowdhury and President of Swadhinata Chikitsak Parishad Dr MA Aziz got the vaccine.

Dr Hasan Shahriar Kabir, director (Chattogram division) of the DGHS, and Dr Sheikh Fazle Rabbi, civil surgeon of Chattogram, civil surgeon of Chapainawabganj Dr Zahid Nazrul Chowdhury and Chapainawabganj Deputy Commissioner Monjurul Hafiz among others who were vaccinated on the opening day.