2nd-phase municipal polls today

Staff Correspondent

16 January, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The second phase of municipal elections will be held in 60 municipalities across the country today amid fear of violence in many areas.

Two people were killed in violence between supporters of candidates in Jhenaidah on Thursday ahead of the second phase municipal elections.

The police administration has taken adequate security measures to avert any untoward incidents. The polling will start at 8:00am and continue until 4:00pm without any break.

“The Election Commission (EC) declared schedules for holding polls to 61 municipalities in the second phase but

the election to Saidpur municipality under Nilphamari district was postponed later,” said EC joint secretary (PR) Asaduzzaman.

The EC postponed polls to Saidpur municipality following death of a mayoral candidate.

A total of 221 mayoral candidates, 745 councillors for reserved seats and 2,320 councillors are battling in the general seats under the municipality polls.

Of them, twenty-eight municipalities will go to polls using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

All preparations have been taken by the EC for holding a free, fair and neutral poll, said the EC official, adding that adequate members of the law enforcement agencies and magistrates have been deployed for holding the municipal polls across the country.

Members of Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), police and Ansars have also been deployed in the areas other than the polling centres. Even the mobile striking forces also will patrol the polling centres.

Restrictions have been imposed on movement of vehicles in the electoral areas under the municipality areas.

About 22,40,226 voters are scheduled to cast their votes in 1,080 polling centres.

The municipalities are Swandip in Chattogram, Kazipur, Belkuchi, Ullapara, Sadar and Rayganj in Sirajganj, Mohonganj, Kendua in Netrokona, Kushtia Sadar, Kumarkhali, Bheramara and Mirpur, Kulaura and Komolganj in Maulvibazar, Tarabo in Narayanganj, Shariatpur Sadar, Nageshwari in Kurigram, Sundarganj and Sadar in Gaibandha, Sadar, Birampur and Birganj in Dinajpur, Nozipur in Naogaon, Bhangura, Faridpur, Santhia, Ishwardi and Sujanagar in Pabna, Arani, Bhabaniganj, Kakanhat in Rajshahi, Sunamganj Sadar, Chatak and Jagannathpur in Sunamganj, Madabpur and Nabiganj in Habiganj, Boalmari in Faridpur, Phulbaria and Muktagacha in Mymensingh, Magura Sadar, Savar in Dhaka, Naldanga, Gurudashpur and Gopalpur in Natore, Sherpur, Sariakandhi and Santahar in Bogura, Pirojpur Sadar, Gangni in Meherpur, Sailakupa in Jhenaidah, Khagrachhari Sadar, Lama in Bandarban, Dhanbari in Tangail, Chandina in Cumilla, Dhaganbhuiyan in Feni, Kishoreganj Sadar and Kuliarchar in Kishoreganj, Monohardi in Narsingdi, Basurhat in Noakhali and Mongla in Bagerhat.

The country has a total of 329 municipalities. Polls were taken place in 24 municipalities on December 28 last year in the first phase.

In third phase, polls will be held in 64 municipalities on January 30 while 56 municipalities will go to polls in the fourth phase on February 14.