Bangabandhu Swimming Contest

Faisal, Nayema become champions

Staff Correspondent

29 November, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Faisal, Nayema become champions

Chief of Naval Staff Admiral M Shaheen Iqbal, also the president of Bangladesh Swimming Federation, and other guests pose for a photo with the winners of ‘Bangabandhu 17th National Long-distance Swimming Contest-2020’ at the closing ceremony of the competition at Sheikh Moni Auditorium in Gopalganj on Saturday. —ISPR photo

Faisal Ahmed and Nayema Akter of Bangladesh Army emerged as champions in the men’s and women’s categories respectively of Bangabandhu 17th National Long-distance Swimming Competition at Madhumati River in Gopalganj on Saturday.  

Faisal covered a distance of 10-km from Kongshur to Haridaspur breeze in 1 hour 1 minute 24 seconds. Army’s other participant Juwel Ahmed finished second covering the same distance in 1 hour 3 minutes 27 seconds while Navy’s Kajol Mia ended third covering the distance in 1 hour 4 minutes 7 seconds. 

In the women’s category, Nayema Akter became champions covering a distance of 8-km from Ulpur breeze to Haridaspur breeze. Nayema took 46 minutes 9 seconds to cover the distance.   Navy’s Juli Akter finished second covering the same distance in 47 minutes 48 seconds while Army’s other participant Sabura Khatun ended third covering it 48 minutes 2 seconds.

A total of 14 participants, 7 in men’s category and 7 in women’s categories, took part in the meet organised by Bangladesh Swimming Federation (BSF) and assisted by Bangladesh Navy. BSF organised the meet named after the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman to mark his 100th birth anniversary.

Chief of Naval Staff and BSF President Admiral M Shaheen Iqbal distributed the prizes among winners in a closing function at the Sheikh Mani Auditorium. BSF General Secretary MB Saif, sponsors of the competition Max Group Chairman Gulam Mohammed Alomgir and other guests were also present there.