Ataur Rahman gets BCRA Lifetime Achievement Award

Culture Desk

28 November, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Ataur Rahman gets BCRA Lifetime Achievement Award

Theatre personality and actor Ataur Rahman has been honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award of Bangladesh Cultural Reporters Association (BCRA).

To mark the 25th anniversary of BCRA, the award ceremony will be held at the National Music and Dance auditorium of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy (BSA) in the capital today.

Deputy Speaker of Jatiya Sangshad Fazle Rabbi Miah will attend the occasion as the chief guest. State Minister of Cultural Affairs K. M. Khalid will inaugurate the event while Ovi Chowdhury will preside over the programme.

Ekushey Padak winner thespian Ataur Rahman, is known as one of the renowned and well-respected names in the theatre and cultural arena of Bangladesh.

Born in Noakhali in 1941, Ataur Rahman completed his Masters in Soil Science from Dhaka University in 1965. He served as the founder general secretary of Nagarik Natya Sampradaya, and also an honourable member and former Chairman of Bangladesh Group Theatre Federation.

In his illustrious career as a successful thespian after the independence of Bangladesh, Ataur Rahman has directed over 35 original plays and translated foreign plays including Galileo, Payer Awaj Pawa Jaye, Irsha, Rakto Karobi, Opekkhoman, Banglar Mati Banglar Jol, Narigon, Waiting for Godot, Hamlet and more. He is also a renowned actor in television and cinema, and an Honorary Fellow of Bangla Academy.

Alongside the Ekushey Padak (2001), Ataur Rahman has received a number of other prestigious awards including Shaheed Munier Chowdhury Award, Loko Natyadal Gold Medal for stage direction, Anyadin & Impress Telefilm award for the 'Best Character' role, Alliance Francaise award for contribution in theatre, Lifetime achievement award by Channel i and more.