Entire Cricket South Africa board resigns

Afp, Johannesburg

27 October, 2020 12:00 AM printer

The entire board of Cricket South Africa has resigned, the organisation announced on Monday.

"All independent and non-independent directors have now resigned," CSA said in a Twitter post.

In a statement, CSA said the resignations had been accepted and were with immediate effect, with the exception of three directors who would remain in place "to ensure the continuity and stability of the organisation" until an interim board was appointed.

Monday's announcement followed the resignation of six board members, including acting president Beresford Williams, on Sunday.

The resignation of the four remaining board members clears the way for the appointment of an interim committee.

The latest development came one day before a deadline threatening intervention by sports minister Nathi Mthethwa.

The resignations followed a series of meetings of a 14-person members' council, which consists of the presidents of provincial unions affiliated to CSA. According to CSA's website, the council "sets general policy for CSA".

A report in The Citizen newspaper quoted an unnamed insider as saying: "Not all of the directors were happy to go but they were basically told they had to, we forced them."

Six "non-independent" board members -- elected from cricket structures -- were also part of the members' council.

Williams resigned from both bodies but the other four non-independent board members who resigned on Sunday said they would remain part of the members' council.

All three of the directors who will remain in place until the formation of an interim board are non-independent directors -- Zola Thamae, John Mogodi and Donovan May.