Coronavirus Fallout

3 districts placed on lockdown

Staff Correspondent

9 April, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Following identification of fresh cases of coronavirus, authorities have put more areas on lockdown in the country, including Cox’s Bazar, Narayanganj and Narsingdhi districts aiming to halt further spread of the deadly virus that have already infected 218 people and claimed lives of 20 people.

District administration sources said the three districts have been put under complete lockdown on Wednesday to combat the COVID-19.

Confirming the development, an official source told the Daily Sun that the Cox’s Bazar district is under lockdown, starting yesterday (Wednesday) afternoon and the lockdown will stay until further notice in this regard.

Narayanganj district will be under complete lockdown from Wednesday until further notice, the Inter Service Public Relations (ISPR) said.

No one can enter or exit the districts from now on, the official sources said.

In capital Dhaka, as many as 52 areas of the capital have been put under lockdown, as number of residents in these areas tested positive for the deadly coronavirus. Among these areas, 10 were locked down on Monday.

DMP deputy commissioner Masudur Rahman said they had been locking down areas wherever COVID-19 patients were being detected.  Police locked down Tolarbagh area in Mirpur after a patient had tested positive in one of the first cases of the virus in the country.

Later they locked down around 200 buildings of Khawaza Dewan Lane in Old Dhaka, six areas of Mohammadpur and Adabor, area in front of Mohammadpur Krishi Market, Tajmahal Road Minar Masjid area, Razia Sultana road, a section of Babar Road, several roads and houses of Bosila and Adabor areas.

The law enforcement also said they locked down road No. 5 of Bashundhara Residential Area as a woman tested positive for COVID-19 there.

DMP sources said the areas locked down until yesterday are – a building in Arjat Para of Mohakhali, the area adjacent to Apollo Hospitals in Bashundhara Residential Area, an area of BUET, and sections of Dilu Road in Eskatan, sector No. 14 of Uttara, Kazipara, Central Road, Sowari Ghat, road No. 7 of Mirpur 10, sections of Ashkona, Nayatola, Senpara, Mir Hazirbagh, Nandipara Bridge, a road of Mirpur 11, Dhanmondi 6, Tolarbagh in Mirpur, DESCO Quarters in Mirpur 13, Kutubkhali in Dakkhin Jatrabari, Paschim Maniknagar, sections of Narinda, Green Life Hospital area and Islampur.