AL Triennial Council

‘12 subcommittees formed to complete preparations’

Staff Correspondent

19 September, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader on Wednesday said the party has formed 12 subcommittees to complete preparations for the upcoming triennial council.

“We have formed 12 subcommittees to complete preparations for the upcoming national triennial council of the party to be held on December 20-21 this year,” he said.

Quader, also road transport and bridges minister, came up with the announcement after holding a meeting with party‘s secretary-level leaders at AL president Sheikh Hasina’s political office at Dhanmondi in the capital.

The AL general secretary said the subcommittees will be announced after getting final approval from party chief Sheikh Hasina. “The council session will be inaugurated at 3:30pm on December 20 at Suhrawardy Udyan and the council session will be concluded on December 21,” he said.

“The council sessions of ward, union, upazila, thana and district units have to be completed by October 15,” he said, adding that the designated leaders will give council date soon. Replying to a question whether it is possible to complete councils in three months as all were not possible in the last three years, Quader said, “We have formed many long-due committees in the last three years and now we will hold council of all units only.“

Replying to another query, the minister said the Anti-Corruption Commission has been asked to take action against anyone if the person commits any irregularities.

“We never said that Awami League did not commit any misdeed but we took action against it but other party did not take action against wrongdoers,” he said, adding that Sheikh Hasina herself oversees the process.

AL leaders Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman, Ahmad Hossain, AFM Bahauddin Nasim, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, Mizbah Uddin Siraj, Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel, Asim Kumar Ukil and Abdus Sobhan Golap, among others, were present.