BKSP stun Brothers in last over drama | 2019-03-24 | daily-sun.com

BKSP stun Brothers in last over drama

Sports Correspondent

24 March, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan (BKSP) stunned Brothers Union in the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPDCL) on Saturday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium by 2 runs in the dramatic last over.

Brothers needed 16 runs in the last two overs with five wickets in hand, but they could only get 13 runs losing 4 wickets and lost the match by 2 runs. Mukidul Islam and Sumon Khan bowled in the last two overs and won the game for BKSP.

BKSP won the toss and decided to bat first in Mirpur, which was the first instance of this league for a team batting first after winning the toss in the venue. They posted a challenging total of 267 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs in spite of losing 3 wickets just in 25 runs.

Shamim Hossain, Akbar Ali and Parvez Hossain Emon were the best batsmen for BKSP as all of them hit the fifties. While Shamim struck 71 runs, Akbar and Parvez posted 56 runs and 69 runs respectively.

The veteran pacer Mohammad Sharif bagged 3 wickets for Brother Union while Ebadat Hossain took 2 wickets.

In reply, Brothers were wrapped in for 265 runs for 9 wickets in 50 overs. Chirag Jani, the Indian recruit of Brothers, hit 96 runs but at the end of the day, they ended up losing the game.

Along with Chirag, Junaid Siddique (52), Yasir Ali (38) and Sharifullah (42) also batted well however, fate was on the side of BKSP players.  Right-arm pacer Mukidul Islam bagged 4 wickets for BKSP while Shamim took 2 wickets.

Meanwhile, Sabbir Hossain’s all-round show allowed Shinepukur Cricket Club to post their maiden victory when they thrashed Uttara Sporting Club comprehensively by 8 wickets in the low-scoring fifth-round encounter of DPL at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on Saturday.

Shinepukur, who are comparatively new at country’s top-tier of domestic competition, lifted them from the blushes of the rock-bottom since last four matches. They are now languishing at fourth place from the bottom, just above Uttara, BKSP and Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity.

Even though all the four teams chalked up the identical two points, Shinepukur topped among them due to better net run-rates of 0.161 points. Khelaghar have -0.184 points, while BKSP have -0.364 and Uttara are in the bottom with -1.37 points.

Chasing the paltry target of 146 runs, Shinepukur Cricket Club started batting in dominating fashion from the initial stage of the fiddle. Sabbir was more aggressive than Shadman Islam Anik as he claimed his fifty. They gave a brilliant start to their side as they scored 117 runs for the opening partnership before Anik was out for 37 runs.

Sabbir Hossain then tried to sail them through with Amith Hasan alongside on-route to his personal milestone though the all-rounder fell a run short of a blistering century.

When he was out, Shinepukur team were just a run away from their maiden victory what Amith Hasan finished in emphatic fashion with a boundary.

Sabbir played a whirlwind innings of 99 runs. He clubbed seven sixes and as many fours in his 72-ball knock. Later he was named the player of the match. Amith was unbeaten with 6 runs.

Earlier, Uttara Sporting Club made a shocking start as they lost their 8 wickets for 85. Finally they managed to score some runs before being skittled out for a paltry score of 145 runs.

Minhajul Abedin made an unbeaten contribution of 51 runs in Uttara’s total of 145. The middle-order batsman clouted a 73-ball 51-run knock, laced with half-a-dozen boundaries to remain unbeaten.

Tanzid Hasan (25), captain Mohimenul Khan (21) and Anisul Islam Emon (13) were the other contributors to Uttara’s paltry total.

Right-arm medium fast-bowler Sabbir Hossain grabbed 3 wickets and left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan claimed two wickets for the winners.

In the other match of the day, Prime Dholeswar Sporting Club defeated Khelaghar Samajkalyan Samity by 7 wickets on the back of Saif Hasan’s unbeaten 132 runs as they reached 258 runs for 3 wickets after restricting their opponent to 257 runs for 9 wickets.