Saturday, 22 January, 2022

Second round of NCL begins today

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 21 September, 2017 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The second round encounters of National Cricket League will start today at four separate venues across the country.

The first round matches of four-day long 19th edition of the prestigious tournament ended on September 18.

In the Tier-1 matches of second round, defending champions Khulna Division will play against Barisal Division at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna while Dhaka Division will face meet Rangpur Division at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra.

In the Tier-2 matches of round-2, Dhaka Metro will lock horns with Sylhet Division at Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar and Rajshahi Division will meet Chittagong Division at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi.

Three of the four first round matches finished in drawn results after tight competition between the teams.

Only Rajshahi Division sealed victory over Sylhet Division in the first round match. Rajshahi Division beat Sylhet Division by 6 wickets in Tier-2 thanks to Farhad Hossain’s half-century.

Rain interrupted the final day of Rangpur Division and Khulna Division match. Khulna’s Anamul Haque Bijoy smashed his maiden double ton in NCL in the match and adjudged man of the match for his outstanding performance.
Host Chittagong Division were lucky to avoid defeat against Dhaka Metro in their home ground courtesy of Sazzadul’s knock of 82, which helped Chittagong to save the match.

The rain-hit match between Dhaka Division and Barisal Division ended in a tame draw in Cox’s Bazar as rain washed out the final day’s play. Dhaka scored 309 for 2 in 90 overs in their first innings.

The first round of NCL started with a sign of promise as few batsmen and bowlers shine in their respective fields.

Naeem Islam (135) and Dhiman Ghosh (105) scored centuries and Nasir Hossain bagged 5 for 70 for Rangpur team.

For Khulna, Al-Amin Hossain took 5 wickets, Abdur Razzak bagged 3 and Mashrafe Mortaza collected 4 wickets while Anamul Haque hammered a double ton and Robiul Islam Robi scored 100.

Rony Talukdar (121) and Saif Hasan (106*) were the centurions of Dhaka Division.

Mohammad Ashraful hit a hundred (104) and Nihad Uz Zaman collected total six wickets for Dhaka Metro while Sazzadul scored 82 for Chittagong.

Saqlain Sajib and Forhad Reza shone with the ball for Rajshahi bagging six wickets each respectively. Abul Hasan collected four wickets from round-1 for Sylhet Division.