Thursday, 9 February, 2023

Bangladesh bowl first to sweep India 3-0 in ODI series

Bangladesh bowl first to sweep India 3-0 in ODI series

CHATTOGRAM-With an aim to inflict a whitewash on India, Bangladesh opted to bowl first in the third and final ODI at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here today.

Bangladesh won the first ODI by one-wicket and second match by 5-run to confirm their second successive ODI victory against India. On both occasions Mehidy Hasan Miraz heroics helped Bangladesh win the tensed clash.

However aiming to sweep India 3-0, Bangladesh made two changes with batter Yasir Ali replacing Najmul Hossain Shanto and fast bowler Taskin Ahmed coming in place of left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed.

Injury-plugged India which now lost three consecutive ODI series for the first time since 1997, also brought up two changes.

Ishan Kishan replaced regular captain Rohit Sharma who was ruled out after injuring his left thumb in the second match and Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav made his way in place of pacer injured Deepak Chahar.

Vice-captain KL Rahul will lead the side as India look to avoid a clean sweep.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Anamul Haque Bijoy, Liton Das(c), Yasir Ali, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w/c), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik.