Sunday, 19 September, 2021

Sk Jamal finish runners-up in BPL

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 27th August, 2021 10:02:57 PM
  • Print news
Sk Jamal finish runners-up in BPL

Popular News

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club sealed the runners-up position in the 13-team Bangladesh Premier League football 2020-21 season crushing Mohammedan Sporting Club by 2-0 goals at the Bangladesh Army Stadium in the capital on Friday.

Three times league champions Sheikh Jamal confirmed a consolation 2nd spot in the league securing 52 points from all 24 matches while Mohammedan slipped to the 5th spot from the 4th with their previous credit of 43 points from the same number of games.

Star-studded Bashundhra Kings emerged champions in the country’s top league securing 58 points from 21 matches remaining three matches to end their BPL campaign. Kings took part in AFC Cup and failed to clinch the Inter-Zone semifinal berth after losing against ATK Mohun Bagan in the last Group D match at National Stadium in Male on Tuesday.

In the day’s match, Jamal’s Gambian forward Solomon King Kanform netted a brace in the 52nd and 88th minutes of the game while Sheikh Jamal were reduced to 10 men by the referee as Uzbek forward Otabek Validjanov was shown a direct red card in the 90th minute for his unsporting behaviour during the match.

Mohammedan created a few chances but they didn’t break the deadlock.    

Earlier, Sheikh Jamal beat Mohammedan by the same identical margin of 2-0 goals at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in the first round.

In the day’s other game, Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra earned a narrow win against Bangladesh Police Football Club by 1-0 at the Banglabandhu National Stadium in the capital.

Sheikh Russel defender Mohamed Khalequzzaman scored the match-winner in the 72nd of the game.  

The day’s win, Sheikh Russel improved their tally with 36 points from 23 matches while Bangladesh Police remained at their previous credit of 25 points from 24 outings.

Meanwhile, Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society thrashed Arambagh Krira Sangha by 3-0 goals at the BNS while Saif Sporting Club attacker Mohammed Maraz Hossain potted the 1-0 victory for the team against Brothers Union Club at the same venue.

Elsewhere, Chattagram Abahani won against Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra by 1-0 at the Birshreshtha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the city’s Kamalapur.