DRU annual election underway

Sun Online Desk

30th November, 2020 10:41:10 printer

DRU annual election underway

Voting in the annual election of Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) has been progressing in a festive manner.

The voting began at 9:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any break at the DRU office at Segunbagicha in the capital.

Forty-one candidates are contesting for 21 posts in the DRU election this year. These are one for president, one for vice-president, 12 for secretaries and seven executive committee members. Some 1,693 voters, out of 1,800 members of the professional body will cast their votes.

Of the candidates, Rita Nahar (Boishakhi TV), Saidur Rahman Rubel (Rtv) and Khaled Saifullah (Nayadiganta) have been elected unopposed to the posts of Woman Affairs Secretary, Publicity and Publication Secretary and Welfare Secretary respectively.

Three candidates are contesting for the post president. They are Mursalin Nomani (BSS), Nazrul Islam Mithu (German News Agency) and Shahnewaz Dulal (Shomoyer Alo).

Morsalin Babla (Channel i), Mashiur Rahman Khan (Samakal) and Tofazzal Hossain (Khola Kagoj) are contesting for the post of DRU secretary.