Delhi Capitals register 2nd win in IPL 2020

Sun Online Desk

26th September, 2020 01:43:28 printer

Delhi Capitals register 2nd win in IPL 2020

Delhi Capitals beat Chennai Super Kings by 44 runs to register their second consecutive win of IPL 2020 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Chasing 176 to win, Chennai Super Kings got off to a poor start as they lost both their openers Shane Watson and Murali Vjay inside the powerplay.

Watson got out to Axar Patel while Vijay was removed by Anrich Nortje. Ruturaj Gaikwad who came into bat at No. 4 failed to impress as he got run out after scoring just five runs.

After losing two quick wickets, Faf du Plessis and Kedar Jadhav stitched a decent partnership to keep CSK hopes alive in the game. Anrich Nortje dismissed Jadhav to hand his side a crucial breakthrough. MS Dhoni came in to bat but the damage was already done.

Nortje and Rabada bowled brilliantly towards the end to seal the massive for their side. Earlier, Prithvi Shaw (64 off 43) scored his 5th IPL half-century as Delhi Capitals posted 175/3 against CSK.

Shaw got support from his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan (35 runs off 27) who played with more caution up front but more than made up for it once the field restriction were lifted.

The duo added 36 runs in the first six overs without any loss and capitalised on the start after the powerplay, taking aggressive approach against the CSK spinners.

Both the players found boundaries at will and looked they will take the game away from them. However that was not to be as Piyush Chawla paid off his captain's faith on him by removing both the openers in quick succession to stop the run flow.