World Cup Titbits

Amir receives two official warnings inside first 5 overs

16th June, 2019 11:15:53 printer

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir received two official warnings within the first five overs of the India vs Pakistan ICC World Cup 2019 match at Old Trafford, Manchester on Sunday for running in the danger area.

Pakistan, having won the toss, opted to field first under overcast conditions and Amir started the proceedings for the men in green. For India, KL Rahul took strike instead of Rohit Sharma, who generally takes the first ball.

Amir started off brilliantly by bowling a maiden to Rahul but to his and Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed’s dismay, he was given an official warning in the third ball of his second over for running down the middle of the pitch on his follow through.

Umpire Bruce Oxenford apparently had spoken to Amir a few times before giving him an official warning. However, that did not stop Sarfaraz Ahmed from having a word with umpire Oxenford. That was only the beginning of the drama as Amir was given a second and final warning for the same offence in his third and India’s 5th over of the innings.