Shakib included in BCB’s final squad for ACC Asia Cup 2018


30th August, 2018 07:53:03 printer

Shakib included in BCB’s final squad for ACC Asia Cup 2018

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced a 15-member final squad of Bangladesh national cricket team including Shakib Al Hasan for the ACC Asia Cup 2018 beginning in the United Arab Emirates on September 15.


World famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan met with BCB President Nazmul Hasan today after performing Hajj and agreed to play in the Asia Cup. He will undergo a finger surgery after the Asia Cup.


Four cricketers--Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Enamul Haque Bijoy and Abu Jayed Rahi dropped the squad.


Bangladesh, which was placed in Group B with Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, will play Sri Lanka in the inaugural match on Sept 15 in Dubai and will face Afghanistan on Sept 20 in Abu Dhabi.


Pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza will lead the Bangladesh team in the continental cricket meet while world famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan retained as the vice-captain of the team.


Bangladesh team started their practice session for Asia Cup from last Monday.


Bangladesh ODI team: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Kumer Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmud Ullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz,  Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Abu Haider Rony.