Monday, 29 May, 2023

Naim stars as Abahani down Mohammedan

Rupganj Tigers, Agrani Bank earn maiden win

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 23 March, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Naim stars as Abahani down Mohammedan
Abahani Limited batsman Mohammad Naim celebrates after scoring a century against Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited during a DPL match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Wednesday. – WALTON PHOTO

Mohammad Naim struck a brilliant unbeaten hundred to help Abahani Limited clinch a six-wicket win over arch-rivals Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited during their third round match of the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2022-23 in Mirpur on Wednesday.

Naim scored a blistering 110 off 86 balls with 11 fours and four sixes while Afif Hossain also made 49 off 41 balls as Abahani reached the target 236-4 in just 34.3 overs to complete their third successive win in the tournament.

This was Mohammedan’s second defeat in three matches and they are currently placed at 10th in the 12-team points table with only one point.

Earlier, Mohammedan openers Imrul Kayes (68) and Mahidul Islam Ankon (70) gave them a flying start after they won the toss and elected to bat first as the pair put up a 137-run stand but the remaining batters failed to contribute much with the bat as they could post 235-8 in their 50 overs.

Abahani’s Saif Hasan was the most successful bowler as he finished with 4-45 while Tanvir Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib took two wickets each for their side.

Meanwhile, in the day’s other matches, Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club defeated Gazi Group Cricketers by 10 runs at the BSKP-4 ground while Agrani Bank Cricket Club clinched a massive 121-run victory over Dhaka Leopards at the BKSP-3 ground.

Riding on fifties of skipper Naeem Islam (78) and Imranuzzaman ((68), Rupganj Tigers posted 251-8 in their 50 overs after being sent into bat first.

Alauddin Babu then finished with a career-best 5-35 while Nayeem Hasan also took two wickets as Rupganj Tigers bowled Gazi Group all out for 240 runs in 48.4 overs to clinch a narrow win.

Skipper Akbar Ali made the highest 88 runs while Anamul Haque remained not out on 82 runs.

It was Rupganj Tigers’ first win in the tournament while Gazi Group suffered their maiden defeat in the competition.

At the BKSP-3 ground, seasoned campaigner Marshall Ayub scored a brilliant 100 off 108 balls while Shadman Islam made 73 runs as Agrani Bank posted 258-7 in their stipulated overs after being sent into bat first.

Pacer Salauddin Shakil took the highest three wickets for Dhaka Leopards.

Agrani Bank’s left-arm spinner Elias Sunny then claimed a career-best bowling figure of 5-34 to rattle the opposition batting order as Dhaka Leopards were bowled out for just 137 runs in 36.3 overs to suffer their second defeat in the tournament.

Moin Khan was the top scorer for Dhaka Leopards making 31 runs.

It was also Agrani Bank’s first win in the tournament as they earlier lost their opening two matches. The fourth round matches will start on Friday.