Saturday, 1 April, 2023

Eight teams earn direct 2024 T20 World Cup berth

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 1 March, 2023 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Eight teams earn direct 2024 T20 World Cup berth

Popular News

Bangladesh and seven other teams earned direct qualification for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, confirmed by the International Cricket Council on Tuesday.

Bangladesh qualify as hosts of the ninth edition of the tournament while Australia, New Zealand and South Africa are the teams to earn direct qualification as the top three teams of Group 1 in the league stage while England, India and the West Indies similarly make it from Group 2.

Pakistan make it by virtue of being the next highest-ranked team in the women’s T20I Team Rankings as of February 27, 2023.

The remaining two spots will be identified through a global qualifier to be held in early 2024. Sri Lanka and Ireland are the teams failing to get the direct qualification and they will be playing in the qualifier alongside other teams.