Tuesday, 7 February, 2023

BNP’s threat to topple govt to fall flat: Quader

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 4 December, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
BNP’s threat to topple govt to fall flat: Quader

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader on Saturday said BNP’s threat of unseating the government will not yield any result.

“Issuing threats to Awami League will be of no use. BNP leaders are issuing threats to topple the government. But such threats won’t yield any result,” he said while addressing the council sessions of Awami League’s Mymensingh district and city units at the Circuit House ground.

Quader, AL spokesperson, directed the leaders and activists of the party to remain alert to any untoward incident. “You must remain vigilant in every area. If any attack is carried out, time will say whether the counter attack will be launched or not,” he said.

He said their party will face BNP politically. “There’ll be a game against corruption and vote rigging,” he said.

Quader, also road transport and bridges minister, once again described BNP founder Ziaur Rahman as the mastermind of the August 15 carnage, saying the grenade attack on the AL rally was carried at the directive of Tarique Rahman to assassinate Sheikh Hasina.

Listing government’s various development activities, he said ‘Digital Bangladesh’ has been materialised under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

AL senior leaders, including Dr Abdur Razzaque, Dr Dipu Moni, Ashim Kumar Ukil and Marufa Akter Popy, State Minister for Housing and Public Works Shohrif Ahmed and State Minister for Cultural Affairs KM Khalid, among others, addressed the programme with AL Mymensingh district unit President Zahirul Haque Khoka in the chair.

After the session, the AL general secretary announced the party's Mymensingh district and city unit committees.

Ehtashamul Alam and Advocated Moazzem Hossain Babul were elected president and general secretary respectively of the district unit while Mymensingh city Mayor Iqramul Haq Titu and Mohit Rahman Shanta president and general secretary of the city unit respectively.