Friday, 9 December, 2022

Tigresses put in tough group in WT20 World Cup 2023

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 4 October, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Tigresses put in tough group in WT20 World Cup 2023

Popular News

Bangladesh were placed in the strong Group 1 as the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the schedule for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 in South Africa next year.

Bangladesh along with Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka are placed in Group 1 while Group 2 comprises England, India, West Indies, Pakistan and Ireland.

The eighth edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will begin on 10 February 2023 with the hosts South Africa taking on Sri Lanka. Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha will host the matches in the tournament with the knockout matches set to be played in Cape Town.

The final will be held on 26 February 2023 with a reserve day available on the 27th in case of major interruptions in play on the designated date.

Five-time title winners and defending champions Australia are grouped alongside their Trans-Tasmanian rivals New Zealand and the hosts South Africa in Group 1 for the Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023.

In the group games, which run until 21 February, each team will take on the other four teams in their group once. The top two teams in each group at the end of the group stage play in the semifinals.