Tuesday, 27 September, 2022

2 Bangladeshi projects win 2022 AKAA

  • Diplomatic Correspondent
  • 23 September, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Two Bangladesh projects are amongst six winners of the 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA).

The Urban River Spaces project in Jhenaidah created by Khondakar Hasibul Kabir and Suhailey Farzana, and the community spaces of the Rohingya Refugee Response programme by architects Rizvi Hassan, Khwaja Fatmi and Saad Ben Mostafa, will, together with four other winning projects, share the USD $1 million award, one of the largest in architecture, Bangladesh projects have received the coveted Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1989, 2007, 2010, 2016 and 2019, said the AKDN Diplomatic Office in Bangladesh on Thursday.

Through consistent community participation and appropriation, extensive involvement of women and marginalised groups, and a local workforce, the seemingly simple undertaking of cleaning up the access to the Nabaganga river in Jhenaidah led to a thoughtful and minimal landscaping project with local materials and construction techniques, thus transforming a derelict informal dump site into an attractive and accessible multifunctional space that is valued by Jhenaidah’s diverse communities. In addition to the two Bangladesh projects from, Indonesia, Iran, Lebanon, and Senegal have also won the Award.