Tuesday, 27 September, 2022

Sylhet to host Women’s Asia Cup

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 16 August, 2022 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Two venues in Sylhet will host the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup, scheduled to be held on October 1-16.

A total of seven teams – hosts Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, UAE and Malaysia will take part in the event, which will be held in the T20 format.

All the foreign teams are expected to arrive in Bangladesh by September 28 to take part in the competition.

Before the tournament, Bangladesh national women’s team will compete in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, which is expected to start on September 16 in UAE.

In consideration of the format of the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier and ACC Women’s T20 Asia Cup tournaments, this year the 12th edition of the Women’s National Cricket League will also be held in the T20 event, which will start on August 18 in Sylhet.

Bangladesh are the current champions of the tournament having won the trophy back in 2018 in Malaysia.