Wednesday, 26 January, 2022

Bangabandhu BPL players’ draft today

BCB decides to change Dhaka’s ownership

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 27 December, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

Bangladesh Cricket Board decided to change the ownership of the Dhaka franchise for the upcoming Bangabandhu BPL T20 as the interested consortium failed to keep the financial commitment.

 The player’s draft of the tournament will be held today at a city hotel in the capital and it will be televised live on T Sports and Gazi TV (GTV) while the programme will also be livestreamed on the BCB’s official Facebook page.

Earlier BCB announced that Rupa Fabrics Ltd & Marn Steel Ltd (Consortium) will be at the helm of the Dhaka franchise but later its board decided not to continue with them as they failed to keep their commitments.

“We have decided not to continue with them (Rupa Fabrics Ltd & Marn Steel Ltd, Consortium) as they failed to meet our certain requirements,” BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury told the media on Sunday.

“The Board will take over the team and later give it to another interested party,” he said.

The five other teams are - Barishal (Fortune Shoes Limited), Chattogram (Delta Sports Limited-Akhtar Group), Cumilla (Comilla Legends Limited), Khulna (Mind Tree Ltd) and Sylhet (Pragoti Green Auto Rice Mills Ltd).

Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet will be the host venues for the 36-match six-team event that will be played in double round-robin league format followed by three play-offs and a final.

The final of the tournament is scheduled to be held on February 18.

Each team is allowed to include three overseas players in the XI for a match. A team can recruit one local player from any category as a direct signing prior to the player draft.

A team will be entitled to register a minimum of ten and a maximum of fourteen local players. Except for the one direct signing, all other local players must be obtained from the player draft.

The number of registered Bangladeshi players for each team cannot exceed fourteen at any point during the tournament. The champions team will be awarded BDT 01 crore while the runners-up will get BDT 50 lac.

“Over 400 foreign cricketers are placed in the draft list. They are completing registration formalities online. They are completing the registration process through their agents and agencies,” said Nizamuddin.

“At the moment I can’t say their names. Today (Monday) we will get a clear picture of who has been retained and who will be on the draft list. We will circulate it among the participating franchises,” he said.

“We are getting some high profile cricketers. Franchises are bagging cricketers directly from outside of the draft according to the rules. You will know the names soon,” he added.

Fee cap for local players: A category (BDT 70 Lac), B category (BDT 35 Lac), C category (BDT 25 Lac), D category (BDT 18 Lac), E category (BDT 12 Lac) and F category (BDT 05 Lac).

Fee cap for foreign players: A category (US$ 75K), B category (US$ 50K), C category (US$ 40K), D category (US$ 30K) and E category (US$ 20K).