Monday, 17 January, 2022

Spread of Omicron

Bangladesh removed from India’s ‘red list’

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 1 December, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news
Bangladesh removed from India’s ‘red list’

Bangladesh has been removed from the Indian government’s red list of at-risk countries where Omicron cases have been detected.

"Due to a request, the Indian High Commission has informed us that Bangladesh has been moved off the red list of India," Foreign Minister Dr. A. K. Abdul Momen said on Tuesday.

According to the latest information, Bangladesh has been taken off the red list for taking additional measures at airport on arrival.

Earlier, India published a release on Monday adding Bangladesh to the list of risky countries from where travellers would need to follow additional measures, including RT-PCR tests on self-expenditure, on arrival there.

The rules are meant to contain spread of Omicron variant which has first been found in South Africa.

As per the guidelines released by the Indian government, the UK, entire Europe and 10 countries - South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore and Israel - are at risk where Bangladesh was also included.

The revised guidelines for international arrivals in India will come into effect today amid the looming threat of Omicron. Under the revised guidelines, the Centre makes it mandatory for international passengers entering India to submit 14-day travel details and upload negative RT-PCR test report on the Air Suvidha portal before the journey. This test should be conducted within 72 hours prior to beginning the journey.

As per the health ministry's guidelines, travellers from the at-risk countries will need to take the Covid test post-arrival and wait for results at airports. If tested negative, they'll follow home quarantine for 7 days. Re-test on the eighth day and if negative, further self-monitoring for next 7 days.

“Travellers from the countries except at-risk countries will be allowed to leave the airports and shall self-monitor health for 14 days' post-arrival. A sub section (5% of total flight passengers) shall undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airports on arrival,” the guidelines state.