Monday, 29 November, 2021

BPL clubs come up with big surprises over foreign recruits

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 22 November, 2021 12:00 AM
  • Print news

The participating clubs of the Bangladesh Premier League came up with big surprises in recruiting overseas of their respective squads ahead of the upcoming season 2021-22.

 Ahead of the new season, the players’ transfer window started from October 1 and will end on November 25. The season will commence with the Independence Cup on November 27 in Kamlapur in the capital.

 The defending champions Bashundhara Kings signed former national player of Bosnia and Herzegovina midfielder Stojan Vranjes on Saturday while they retained Latin duos Robson Azevedo da Silva Robinho, Jonathan da Silveira Fernandes Reis and Iranian defender Khaled Shafiei. BPL runners-up Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club have already completed their players’ registration formalities by signing Panamanian forward Jose Alexander Hernandez Avila and retained Gambian duos Solomon King Kanform and Sulayman Sillah, Uzbek forward Otabek Valijonov into their 30-member squad.

Third-placed Abahani Limited Dhaka gave a big surprise as they recruited former Kings’ captain and Costa Rican forward Daniel Colindres in their squad. They are also going to sign -- Gambian forward Pa Omar Jobe, who earlier played for Sheikh Jamal and Iranian center back. The name of the Iranian is yet to be disclosed. However, they retained Brazilian forward Raphael Augusto from their previous squad.

 Last season’s Federation Cup runners-up Saif Sporting Club released all their foreigners of the previous team. The club trying to be rejuvenated and dreaming to secure at least one major title under the newly appointed Argentine head coach Andres Cruciani. However, they signed Nigerian forwards Emeka Ogbugh and Mfon Udoh, Rwanda defender Emery Bayisenge and Uzbek midfielder Asror Gafurov. 

 Elsewhere, Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra signed Brazilian forward Giancarlo Lopes Rodrigues and Tajik defender Siyovush Asrorov, while retained Kyrgyz midfielder Baktyir Duishobekov and Nigerian midfielder Ugochukwu Obi Moneke in their squad.

Chattogram Abahani Ltd retained their previous foreigners -- Kpehi Jean Charles Didier, Nixon Guylherme, Idenyi Chinedu Matthew, Pulatov Shukur Ali while the rest of the five clubs -- Mohammedan Sporting Club, Muktijoddha Sangsad KC, Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society, Police Football Club and Uttar Baridhara Club are yet to unfold their players’ lists.