Nuruddin wins Lakshmipur-2 by-polls

Staff Correspondent

22 June, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Ruling Awami League nominated candidate Nuruddin Chowdhury Nayan unofficially won the Lakshmipur-2 constituency (Raipur and Sadar) by-election on Monday.

The entire election was held under the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) from 8:00am to 4:00pm on the day.

According to the results announced after the voting, Nuruddin Chowdhury got 1 lakh 22 thousand 557 votes with the boat symbol.

His nearest rival Jatiya Party candidate Sheikh Mohammad Faiz Ullah got 1,008 votes with the Langal symbol. Returning Officer Dulal Talukder declared the result.

Nuruddin is the general secretary of Bangladesh Awami League’s Lakshmipur district unit while Sheikh Mohammad Faiz Ullah is a member of the central committee of Jatiya Party.

The seat for Lakshmipur-2 constituency was declared vacant through a gazette published by Jatiya Sangsad Secretariat on February 22 this year as the MP of the constituency Shahid Islam Papul was convicted on a criminal offense.

Earlier, on January 28, a Kuwaiti court sentenced lawmaker Papul and four others to four years in jail in a bribery case.

Lakshmipur-2 constituency consists of 10 unions and one municipality of Raipur upazila and 9 unions of Sadar upazila. The total number of voters there is 429,063.