3 educationists made national professors

Staff Correspondent

7 May, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The government has appointed three eminent educationists as national professors of the country.

They are Professor Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin, Professor AK Azad Khan, and Professor Mahmud Hasan. The Ministry of Education issued a gazette notification in this regard on Thursday.

Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin is a reputed professor of history and a former Vice Chancellor of Chittagong University. A Barrister-at-law, he was an emeritus professor of the university. He also served as a UGC Professor. His scholarly writings are considered as assets for students, legal academicians and historians.

AK Azad Khan is the President of Diabetic Association of Bangladesh (BADAS). As the founder President of Bangladesh Gastroenterology Society, he organised Gastroenterology services in the country. This honourary fellow of Bangladesh Academy of Sciences and the University College London was also the founder general secretary of Bangladesh Endocrinology Society.

Professor Mahmud Hasan is the President of Bangladesh Gastroenterology Society. He is working as a Gastroenterology specialist in Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University Hospital.