Matin Khasru elected SCBA president, Kajal general secy

Staff Correspondent

14 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Matin Khasru elected SCBA president, Kajal general secy

Ruling Awami League has bagged eight posts including president, vice president, deputy secretary and treasurer of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) in the recently held elections to the 14-member regulatory body of the apex court lawyers.

Former Awami League law minister and senior lawyer Abdul Matin Khasru has been elected president while pro-BNP lawyers’ leader Barrister Ruhul Kuddus Kajal has bee made general secretary.

Khasru contested from the ruling Awami League-backed white panel and Barrister Ruhul Kuddus Kajal from pro-BNP blue panel.

As many as 5,486 voters out of 7,721 exercised their franchise in the two-day voting which ended on Thursday. Counting of votes started on Friday afternoon.

The election commission led by Justice (retd) AFM Abdur Rahman announced the results at 1:00 am on Saturday.

From white panel, Advocate Shafik Ullah has been elected vice president, Safayet Sultana Rumi deputy secretary and Dr Iqbal Karim treasurer.

On the other hand, Jalal Uddin and Mahmud Hasan have become vice president and deputy secretary from pro-BNP blue panel respectively.

Out of seven member posts, ruling white panel has got four while BNP three.  The Pro-Awami League members are Shibli Sadekin, Mahfuzur Rahman Roman, Mintu Kumar Mondal and Muntasir Ahmed while Iftekhar Ahmed, Parvin Kawsar Munni and Redwan Ahmed Ranjib are the members from Pro-BNP blue panel.