9 individuals, one org named for Independence Awards

Staff Correspondent

8 March, 2021 12:00 AM printer

The government has announced names of nine individuals and one state-run organisation for the 2021 Independence Awards.

Former  Awami League lawmaker late Ahsanullah Master, late AKM Bazlur Rahman, Brig Gen Khurshid Uddin Ahmed and                

businessman late Akhtaruzzaman Chowdhury Babu have been named posthumously for the awards for their contribution to Independence and the Liberation War, according to a notice released by the Cabinet Division on Sunday.

Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council (Barc) is one of the awardees.

Besides, Mahadev Saha is named for the award in literature and Dr Mrinmoy Guha Niyogi in science and technology. 

The government also named noted playwright Ataur Rahman and lyricist Gazi Mazharul Anwar, also an advisor to the BNP chairperson, for the award for their contribution to culture, Dr M Amzad Hossain for social welfare and Barc for research and training.

Bangladesh has been honouring individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on March 26 since 1977.

The awardees had been receiving a gold medal, a replica of the award and a certificate. The award money was raised to Tk 500,000 in 2020 from Tk 300,000.