Abul-Yakub panel sweeps JOC Labour Union election

Staff Correspondent

4 February, 2021 12:00 AM printer

Abul-Yakub panel sweeps JOC Labour Union election

CHATTOGRAM:  Abul-Yakub panel swept the biennial election of the Jamuna Oil Company Labour Union held on Sunday.

Md Abul Hossain and Muhammad Yakub of the panel were elected president and general secretary respectively in the election held at 13 centres including the company’s head office in Chattogram from 2:00pm to 5:00pm.

Mentionable, six candidates including general secretary were elected unopposed and the election was held for the rest three posts.

Out of total 286 voters, 284 exercised their franchise in the election, said sources.

The elected office bearers are Executive President Md Joynal Abedin, Vice President Delwar Hossain Biswas, Assistant General Secretary Md Abdul Mannan, Organsing Secretary Md Kashem Molla, Treasure Abu Bakkar Siddique Khan, Office Secretary Md Nasir Uddin and Sports and Cultural Secretary Abdul Jabbar. 

Delegates from the Department of Labour visited the voting centres as observers, said the sources.