Mumbai to take on Chennai in IPL 2020 opener

7 September, 2020 12:00 AM printer

Defending Champions Mumbai Indians will take on Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League 2020 opener, set to be played on September 19 in Abu Dhabi, the BCCI announced while revealing the league-phase schedule on Sunday (September 6), reports Cricbuzz.

The action will move to Dubai on September 20 when Delhi Capitals will begin their campaign against Kings XI Punjab, followed by Sunrisers Hyderbad's opening clash against Royal Challengers Bangalore on September 21.

Sharjah's first match, on September 22, will see first-season finalists Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings square off.

The first of 10 scheduled double headers, will be on October 3. Afternoon games will start at 3:30 PM IST (14:00 UAE time) while the regular evening games will begin at 7:30 PM IST (18:00 UAE Time).

Five of the 10 day games will be hosted by Abu Dhabi. Dubai will host four afternoon matches, while Sharjah will have only one match starting at 2 PM. All teams will play a minimum of two day games, with only RCB, KKR, RR and SRH set to play in three.

Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders will play 8 of their league matches in Abu Dhabi, while Sunrisers Hyderabad will play 8 of their games in Dubai. The maximum games Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals will play at a venue is 7 each in Dubai.

Rajasthan Royals, on the other hand, have an almost equal distribution of matches, with five being played in Abu Dhabi and 6 in Dubai. All teams will play three games each in Sharjah. In all, 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah.

The league phase will run across 46 days, with the last match of the league to be played between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians in Sharjah, on November 3. The dates and venues for IPL playoffs, the final and the women's T20 league have not been announced.