Gayle to play for Chattogram in BPL

Sports Correspondent

18 November, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Gayle to play for Chattogram in BPL

Bangladesh Cricket Board President Nazmul Hasan Papon, second right, is seen along with other BCB Directors during the players’ draft of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at a hotel in the capital on Sunday.

Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) players draft was held at a hotel in the capital on Sunday.

Big-hitter Chris Gayle was roped in by the Chattogram Challengers as they got the first right to call in foreign players’ pool.

What was more shocking was that Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Mortaza was ignored by the teams in the first four rounds as no team decided to pick him up.

Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon brought in Tamim Iqbal, Enamul Haque, Hasan Mahmud and Mehedi Hasan. Premier Bank Khulna Tigers roped in Mushfiqur Rahim, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Aminul Islam Biplob. Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi and Farhad Reza were called in by Rajshahi Royals. Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Arafat Sunny and Jahurul Islam found takers in Rangpur Rangers.

Meanwhile, Sylhet Thunders brought in Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam Apu and Shohag Gazi and Cumilla Warriors opted for Soumya Sarkar, Al Amin Hossain, Yeasir Ali Chowdhury and Sabbir Rahman.

Chattogram Challengers were joined by Mahmudullah Riyad, Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain and Rubel Hossain.

Among other foreign players, Ravi Bopara will play for Rajshahi, Mohammad Nabi for Rangpur, Kusal Perera for Cumilla, Riley Russow for Khulna, Sylhet Sherfein Rutherford and Thisara Perera for Dhaka

Earlier, Bangladesh Cricket Board on Saturday announced that seven teams will take part in the upcoming special edition of Bangladesh Premier League. The announcement was made during the logo unveiling ceremony hosted by BCB.

BCB decided to host the tournament all by themselves after they had cut ties with the franchises who were involved in the first six editions of BPL claiming that the franchises were making unreasonable demands.

The participating teams are - Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon, Premier Bank Khulna Tigers, Rajshahi Royals, Rangpur Rangers, Sylhet Thunder, Cumilla Warriors and Chattogram Challengers. Dhaka Platoon and Khulna Tigers will be sponsored by Jamuna Bank and Premier Bank respectively while Chattogram Challengers will have the backing of Akhtar Furnishers. Jivani Footwear Company will sponsor Sylhet Thunders while IPC and Mind Tree will sponsor Rajshahi Royals.