Nayeem, Biplob earn Tigers’ T20 call-up

Sports Correspondent

17 September, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh have picked left-handed opener Nayeem Sheikh and young leg spinning batting all-rounder Aminul Biplob in their 15-member squad for their third and fourth Twenty20Is of the ongoing Tri-nation Series.

Nazmul Hossain Shanto, who played two Tests and three ODI’s, made a return to the national squad while this is the first time he is included in the Twenty20 set-up.

Selectors picked Naim and Nazmul as they want to bolster their strength at the top of the order as they failed to shine in the recent times.

While Soumya Sarkar lost his place, Liton Das can claim himself to be lucky to be able retain his place in the squad despite poor form. Pace bowler Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam also made a return in the Twenty20 squad.

“As a top order batsmen, I will try to give more than hundred percent. Rest depends on almighty’s mercy. I try to score regularly for the team. I want to contribute for the team,” said Nayeem.

“I enjoy playing under the leadership of Shakib Al Hasan. If the opportunity comes I will give my best. I can only try from my position. As I played with him I like everything all aspects of him,” he added.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu said that they have included Nayeem as they want to see how he handles the pressure of international cricket.

“We picked Nayeem Sheikh as he is one of our future prospects. He is playing well for quite some time and we feel it is the right time to see how he handles the pressure of international cricket,” said Minhajul adding that they have included a leg spinner as per the insistence of new head coach Rusell Domingo.

“Our coach wants a leg spinner badly so felt that we can have a look at Biplob as he had improved his leg spin remarkably in the last couple of days,” he said.

Minhajul added that they recalled Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam due to the insistence of Domingo, who feels that pace bowlers can be a better option against Afghanistan.

Minhajul added that they are quite disappointed with the way Soumya Sarkar had performed in the recent times and added it is high time he gets back some confidence through scoring some runs in the domestic circuit.

Earlier in the opening two Twenty20Is the host had a 13-member squad but this time around they have selected a 15-member squad.

Bangladesh Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain),Mushfiqur Rahim, MD Mahmudullah, Shabbir Rahaman Roman.Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain,Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, MD Shaif Uddin, Nayeem Shaikh, Aminul Biplob, Nazmul Hossain Shanto