Bangladesh women drawn in tough group

Sports Desk

9 September, 2019 12:00 AM printer

The International Cricket Council announced the fixture of Women’s World Cup T20, staring from February 21, 2020 in Australia, said a press release by the World Cricket apex body.

The tournament starts with Australia taking on India and the final is on March 8, the day which is observed as the International Women’s Day.

Bangladesh however was placed in Group A, which is considered as tougher after they have got World champion Australia, India, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in the group.

Bangladesh and Thailand were the two teams to make the cut in the tournament proper after securing their place in final the ICC Women’s World Cup T20 Qualifier.

In the final, Bangladesh beat Thailand by 70 runs to clinch the title for the consecutive second time.

Bangladesh fixture

Bangladesh VS India February 24, 2020

Bangladesh VS Australia February 27, 2020

Bangladesh VS New Zealand February 28, 2020