BKSP relegated from DPL | 2019-04-19 | daily-sun.com

BKSP relegated from DPL

Sports Correspondent

19 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan (BKSP) are the first team to be relegated from the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League to Dhaka First Division Cricket League losing to Uttara Sporting Club by one wicket at their home venue in Savar on Thursday.

However, Uttara SC are still in doubt to keep their place safe in the Dhaka Premier League. Their fate depends on their last match with Brothers Union Club.

BKSP batted first after winning the toss and were bundled out cheaply for 144 runs in 49.4 overs with Aminul Islam scoring team highest 59 featuring two fours.

Akbar Ali and Sadman Rahman tried hard to make a good total scoring 26 and 25 runs respectively. But the other BKSP batsmen failed to live up to the expectations.

Abdur Rashid bagged five wickets while Sajjad Hossain, Manan Sharman and Mohimenul Khan took one wicket each.

In replying, Uttara SC also made a frustrating start losing four wickets before posting 50 runs on the board.

However, Manan Sharma struck 52 to guide BKSP to the match-winning knock

Apart from Manan, Minhazul Abedin and Abdul Gaffar contributed 17 and 21 runs respectively and chased the target in 39.5 overs scoring match winner 147 for the loss of nine wickets.

For BKSP, Tanzim Hasan Shakib bagged four wickets while Hasan Murad and Shamim Hossain took two wickets each.

Abdur Rashid was the man of the match for his five-wicket haul.