India goes to poll from April 11

Gautam Lahiri 

2 April, 2019 12:00 AM printer

New Delhi: The 17th Lok Sabha election in India will be conducted in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 under EVM system while the counting of votes will be held on May 23.

As expected, the main electoral fight will take place between the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led 37-party alliance NDA and Rahul Gandhi-led 20-party UPA.

Modi-Amit Shah’s BJP seems to remain ahead in terms of alliance-based politics while Rahul-led Congress is also in a very strong position in election field to fight for the final vote battle.

In the regional influential parties, West Bengal Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee, main contender of anti-modi regional government, is running for election alone without any alliance.

In Uttar Pradesh, alliance of Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samajwadi Party and Ajit Singh’s, son of former prime minister Chaudhary Charan Singh, Rashtriya Lok Dal, has thrown challenge to BJP in competing 80 seats.

Though it was heard that these parties likely to form alliance with Congress, but they did not. They only have not selected any aspirants in Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareli constituency and Rahul Gandhi’s Amethi constituency.

Like that, Congress is not fielding its candidates in seven constituencies belonging to the top leaders of these regional parties. In the last election, BJP won 73 out of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh province that helped Modi to assume power.

As Uttar Pradesh seems to be very important province for the entire Lok Sabha election, for the first time Congress has nominated Priyanka Gandhi as its general secretary for election campaign.

Now, the focus is whether Gandhi magic is going to make any difference in the Modi’s stronghold.

In terms of election alliance, BJP technically showed its magic that to some extent gave tension to Congress.

The continuous protest from several election allies had brought tension for BJP till the announcement of election schedule.

However, the ruling BJP made a very fruitful seat sharing with its allies. For the first time, BJP has got Songjukto Janata Dal of Nitish Kumar in Bihar and NIDM in Tamil Nadu as their allies in election.

Though BJP won 23 seats in Bihar in last election, it is going to compromise six seats for Nitish Kumar party.

Besides in Maharashtra, Amit Shah made an understanding with Uddhav Thakrey’s party in the state.

After summing up, BJP is going to compete in 438 seats and the rest will be left for its allies.

At the same time, Congress has decided to compete in 424 seats. Alliance with left parties in West Bengal broke down and the left ones will also field their candidates in Kerala as Rahul Gandhi has announced to compete himself in this constituency.

In Bihar, Congress has made settlement in Bihar with Lalu Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Party while it is also in comfort zone in Karnataka. The party has also reached a consensus with NCP of Sharad Pawar in Maharashtra and DMK in Tamil Nadu.

In the upcoming election, the dynamic leadership of Prime Minister Naredra Modi is the key factor. Even, the main opposition Congress is yet to announce the name of its prime minister that also brought some advantage for BJP.

On the other hand, Congress is bringing forward the failure of BJP government during the last five years, especially, BJP’s false promise of uplifting the income of farmers and eradicating unemployment.