AL sales record 600 nomination forms on first day | 2019-01-16

Women’s Reserved Seat

AL sales record 600 nomination forms on first day

Staff Correspondent

16 January, 2019 12:00 AM printer

A record number of nomination forms of Awami League (AL) for women’s reserved seats in parliament were sold on the very first day of nomination paper sale on Tuesday.

In the past, the party did not see such a huge sale on the first day, sources said.

Over 600 nomination forms for 43 reserved seats worth Tk 18,000,000 were sold on the first day of nomination form sale, AL office secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap said.

The ruling AL started selling nomination forms at party president Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi political office around 10:00 am.

AL General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader inaugurated the programme.    

An aspirant can collect a form at a cost of Tk 30,000, AL deputy office secretary Biplab Barua said. The sale of forms and submission will continue till 6:00 pm on January 18.

Prime Minister and AL chief Sheikh Hasina will invite them soon for interviews.

On the first day, AL leaders Faridunnahar Laily, Mahmuda Begum Creeck, Nazma Akhter, Sarah Begum Kobori, Nilufar Anjum Popy, Nargis Rahman, Khaleda Khanam, Mala Rani Sarkar, Shamima Sultana, Purobi Rani Debnath, Asma Akter Runa, Tahmina Sultana, Nasima Akter Doly, Jebunnesa Afroz, Banasri Biswas, Jyotika Jyoti, Rabeya Aziz, Dipika Rani Samaddar, among others, collected the papers.

The Election Commission is expected to announce the schedule for election in 50 parliamentary seats for women on February 17. The EC has a legal obligation to hold the election within 90 days after publication of the gazette for lawmakers-elect.

In line with the law, the reserved seats’ distribution will reflect the seat share in the directly elected 300 constituencies. According to the proportional representation in parliament, Awami League has got 43 reserved seats, while Jatiya Party four seats, BNP one and others will get the remaining two.

AL bagged 257 seats out of 299 parliamentary constituencies across the country, while Jatiya Party 22 seats, BNP six seats, Workers’ Party three seats, Gono Forum, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and Bikalpadhara two seats each, Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party (Manju) one seat each in the 11th general election.