Thursday, 2 February, 2023

Voting to Gaibandha-5 by-polls ends, counting underway

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 4th January, 2023 06:13:04 PM
  • Print news
Voting to Gaibandha-5 by-polls ends, counting underway

Counting is underway as voting for by-elections to Gaibandha-5 (Saghata-Fulchari) has ended peacefully.   

Voting was held using electronic voting machine (EVM) between 8:30am to 4:30pm on Wednesday without any break.  

No untoward incident was reported during the voting.  

Four candidates are vying for the posts of Member of Parliament (MP).

The candidates for the by-election are Awami League candidate Mahmud Hasan Ripon, Jatiya Party candidate AHM Golam Shaheed Ranju, Bikalpa Dhara candidate Advocate Jahangir Alam, independent candidate Nahiduzzaman Nishad and Syed Mahbubur Rahman.

The Gaibandha-5 constituency fell vacant following the death of Gaibandha-5 lawmaker and Deputy Speaker of the Parliament Fazle Rabbi Miah on July 22, 2022.