Wednesday, 1 December, 2021

Pressure mounts on the Caribbean as they loses 7 for 123

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 29th October, 2021 04:52:58 PM
  • Print news

The team that loses, their departure from the tournament will be confirmed. In such a match, tossing helped Bangladesh, Tiger captain Mahmudullah Riyad decided to field first.

West Indies were 123 for seven after 19 overs losing Lewis, Gayle, Hetmyer, Pollard, Russel, Pooran, Chase and Bravo.

Mustafizur Rahman and Mahedi Hasan took one and two wickets respectively for the Tigers.

Bangladesh brought two changes to the team. Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed made a cut in the playing XI while wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan and spinner Nasum Ahmed has been sidelined.

Mahmudullah, the skipper of Bangladesh, says that batting first in the last game did not work for them. He added that West Indies have a big batting lineup so they want to restrict them to a low score and chase it. He also informed that there are two changes in the side - Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed come in for Nurul Hasan and Nasum Ahmed.

"We're going to bowl first. We had a bit of look at the stats. They've got a big batting order depth, so we'll try to restrict them to a decent total and try to chase it down. Two changes. Nurul is not playing Soumya Sarkar comes in. Nasum is not playing and Taskin comes in." Mahmudullah said after the toss.

Both Bangladesh and West Indies are yet to open their account in the Super 12s as both are seeking to win to stay alive in the tournament.

Bangladesh captain mahmudullah Riyad decided to bowl first after winning the toss in their third match of the ongoing ICC World T20 Super 12s at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE of Friday.

West Indies (Playing XI) - Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Roston Chase (In for Lendl Simmons), Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Kieron Pollard (C), Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder (In for Hayden Walsh), Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul.

Bangladesh (Playing XI) - Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (WK), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (C), Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar (In for Nurul Hasan), Mahedi Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed (In for Nasum Ahmed), Mustafizur Rahman.